Uncategorized

Doing More

[Not my picture. Random from the internet.]

[Not my picture. Random from the internet.]

(Philemon 1:21)

Having confidence in thy obedience I wrote unto thee, knowing that thou wilt also do more than I say.

(KJV)

Today, I read through Paul’s letter to Philemon. It is only one chapter long, so if you are not familiar with it, perhaps you might could read it now. I was trying to really meditate on the things Paul said to Philemon. Many of the concepts can easily be applied to our own lives. Near the very end of the book is Philemon 1:21 (as listed above). Paul has been giving some instruction to Philemon about his newly-converted runaway servant named Onesimus. As Paul comes to the end of his letter, he says that he has confidence that Philemon will do more than Paul told him to do. I started thinking about that…

The people that have made the most impact in my life have been those that went above and beyond what was expected of them. Those people have served as my role models and mentors. Mind you, there have only been a few. Sure, many people do nice, unexpected deeds for me, which are greeted with a grateful heart. But few have done MORE than expected, more than requested. Few have gone above and beyond, tirelessly trying to do all they could to please and serve me. Now, I am certainly not worthy of this! So, what makes them pursue it? My conclusion: love. Their love and passion for Christ overflows into a love and passion for me. Their seeking to please the Lord fully overflows into their seeking to please me fully. Their mindset of servitude to God overflows into a mindset of servitude to me. Notice what Paul says to Philemon in the beginning of the letter:

(Philemon 1:4-7)

I thank my God, making mention of thee always in my prayers, Hearing of thy love and faith, which thou hast toward the Lord Jesus, and toward all saints; That the communication of thy faith may become effectual by the acknowledging of every good thing which is in you in Christ Jesus. For we have great joy and consolation in thy love, because the bowels of the saints are refreshed by thee, brother.

(KJV)

Philemon loved the Lord. So, he loved people. Because of all this love, he sought to serve others to the best of his ability.

[Not my picture. Random from the internet. And, technically Onesimus wrote down what Paul said.]

[Not my picture. Random from the internet. And, technically Onesimus wrote down what Paul said.]

However, I think far too often we are looking more at the bare minimum we can do. We ask, “What can I get away with?” instead of “What’s the best I can do?” Most are content with their salvation and do not care to do much more than just what they can get away with and be saved. Let us not be like this. I confess that I often find myself thinking, “What can I do and it be enough to please God?” I often only do what is necessary when serving others, and even then it hurts. Woe to a selfish, lazy Church! Let us not be this way any longer! I know some who have already begun to change, and are changing those around them because of it. Let us all respond to our Lord’s call to do more!

“I know you will do more than I say.” Imagine Paul saying that to you. No, imagine Christ saying that to you. Imagine Christ sending something your way and saying, “I know her obedience, that she will do MORE than what is required of her.” All with a smile on His face. I would certainly want my Lord and Master to say that of me. But, to receive such an honour, we must labour. We must tirelessly, without hope of recognition here, bend and serve and bow, doing much more than is required of us, even when it hurts.

But I think I could bear it knowing how my Lord bent and served and bowed, doing far more than what was expexted of Him, and also knowing that I would be pleasing Him with doing the same. And let’s not forget the reward we will receive in heaven for such.

Now, let us bond together. Let us love unconditionally. Let us serve one another. Let us be a pleasing, obedient bride for Christ. Let’s do MORE than what is expected of us. πŸ™‚

(Philemon 1:6)

That the communication of thy faith may become effectual by the acknowledging of every good thing which is in you in Christ Jesus.

(KJV)

[Not my picture. Random from the internet.]

[Not my picture. Random from the internet.]

Standard

9 thoughts on “Doing More

  1. Dearest Kegan, now I am writing this comment with tears. I was so impressed,,,Your pure faith touched the depth of my spirit and I am crying. I am going to write to Sanae to read this wonderful post now. with so much affection and love, Kinuko

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dearest Kinuko-san,

      I am truly honoured by your support and by the way God can use such a small worthless thing as me to fulfill His will! What an amazing God! May He continue to work in all of our hearts…

      Yours ever in love,
      Kegan Cook

      Like

  2. You’re right, Kegan–we should do more than asked! Interesting that I was thinking the same thing the other day, about how most people I know (myself included, sorry to say) are willing to do only the bare minimum for others. There is a serious lack of tenderheartedness and sisterly commitment in the relationships of many Christians. We are so selfish! We think mostly about “me” and neglect the “us” and the “you.” We need to change that! And that’s one reason why I’m so happy to be part of a growing group of headcovering sisters who care deeply for each other!
    With Christian love,
    Jessica

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dearest Sister Jessica,

      So true! My family has been talking much about the lack of love and affection in the Church. I think part of the problem is our view of love.We think that “love” is only physical attraction between two people. However, love is so much more than that! Matter of fact, it is not a noun at all, really. It is a verb. Something we do. And it goes far deeper than mere attraction. It is because most base their mairrage on this false idea of love that many mairrages fail. It simply can’t survive off of physical attraction alone. It must be a deeper commitment and knowledge than that. I have felt so hungry for such sisterly love and affection! My soul has been starving for it! I am so glad I have found sisters who are not ashamed to say “I love you” to another sister all in the love of Christ! I finally feel more alive! More refreshed! More supported! Thank God for His excellent mercies to those who love Him! May the love of Christ come back to the american Church!

      Yours ever in love,
      Kegan Cook

      Like

  3. Sanae .T says:

    Dear Kegan, I was so surprised to read this article. How far you reached profound on love our Lord require us to reveal. We are apt to think that we have so many things to do in our daily lives, do not take enough time to serve others.This is also my confession. What should we prevail? First thing we have to do is what our Lord ask us to do. I am also encouraged. Thank you for your sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dearest Sanae-san,

      Thank you for the kind words and encouragement! (:) It really moves my soul to see the work of God all around me! May He continue to work through such a pitiful creature like me! May He continue to work in all of our hearts and lives and help us to bear much fruit! May God’s love show through us! I thank God with every thought of you, dear Sanae-san! You are a joy to my life. And I mean that. πŸ™‚ You are so much help and refreshment to me. I am so glad to know a sister like you!

      Yours ever in love,
      Kegan Cook

      Like

Leave a Reply

