Uncategorized

People

[Not my pic. Random from the internet. Girl from Japan.]

[Not my pic. Random from the internet. Girl from Japan.]

I’ve been thinking a lot about people.

People…

That’s who Jesus died for. That’s who He’s reaching out to. That’s who He works through. That’s who He’ll glorify into a new body. That’s who He’s chosen to live with forever. Everyday, messed-up, crooked-minded, ordinary, wicked, broken people…

And that’s who He has appointed me to minister to.

What a selfish creature I am! So self-centered and self-seeking—yet for nothing! Why, I am the most horrid creature I know! And, O, my Saviour! He’s the most wonderful! And He has commanded me to be a servant to all, esteeming others as better than myself. BETTER, notice. Not lower. Not even equal! But better. Yet even with all this, I still am so stubbornly, rebelliously wicked!

What a fool!

And yet God uses me for His purpose and for His glory, reaching other people’s hearts and lives through me…

What a God!

[Not my picture. Words are from Chris Tomlin's song "How Great Is Our God". Pic is random from the internet.]

[Not my picture. Words are from Chris Tomlin’s song “How Great Is Our God”. Pic is random from the internet.]

★¿Habla usted Español? Versión español: https://maidenforjesus.wordpress.com/2015/04/05/personas/

Standard

5 thoughts on “People

  1. Dear Kegan san, what a thought-provoking post! Yes, you are right. He commands us to esteem others as better than ourselves. But so often, my sinful pride whispers me, saying that “you are much better and holier than X, or Y” (especially when I see obvious sins in their lives.) This is a hard battle! Because this kind of mindset is the gateway to Pharisaism whom Jesus hates the most.

    I also cling to His mercy daily, Kegan. This morning, I read Jude and the beginning of verse 24 touched my heart;

    “Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling,”

    And I said to Him, “O Thank you Lord! You say you are able to keep me from stumbling. So, I keep clinging to You and trusting You that You will keep me from stumbling each moment until I reach You.”

    Now I am going to close this comment by quoting the rest of the verse.

    “Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling,
    And to present you faultless
    Before the presence of His glory with exceeding joy,

    To God our Savior,
    Who alone is wise,
    Be glory and majesty,
    Dominion and power,
    Both now and forever.
    Amen.”
    (Jude 24, 25)

    from your sister and fellow pilgrim,
    Kinuko

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dearest Kinuko-san,

      Yes indeed! What a wonderful reminder…Thank you, dear Kinuko-san! I was reading one of your recent articles (I do read them! It’s just hard for me to find time to post comments. >//<) where you were talking about the insecurity some bloggers feel about their posts. Honestly, I'm quite the opposite! My problem is not that I am afraid of what people might say about my posts. My problem is that I often am too prideful, thinking I am right and if someone wanted to say otherwise then they are wrong. I struggle to love and listen. 😦 So, I have been working on this.

      Isnt it so nice to be united over such a vast world? I love seeing certain countries faithfully viewing my site. Switzerland, Japan, Greece…It is so nice! It makes it feel worthwhile. 🙂 And not like I'm just talking to thin air. ^~^

      Love and grace abound in your life!

      Yours in our Lord,
      Kegan Cook

      Like

  2. Sanae.T says:

    In early days of my life, I believed in human goodness,hoped to have it in myself,too.But later as many people,I was disappoited how human beings are like including myself.To notice that I need God,it was nessesary experience,but it was bitter one.Many persons say that they do not like people,because too selfish,self-centered.Yes,I agree what they point out.What value us is not our uncertain goodness.God’s love and the blood of Jesus.
    We should respect each other as existence valuable because of that.(though many of them do not know this)
    I read Kinuko’s newest post in her Japanese blog,knew that 70percent of your readers are from Japan. I am so happy to know that what you share are so accepted in Japan!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dearest Sanae-san,

      Thank you for your comment! So true. And yes. It is very encouraging to me that so many from Japan read my posts. I am planning something special for you all later on…;) But I have several posts waiting to be published first. So, it will take some time. May God bless you!

      Your sister,
      Kegan Cook

      Like

  3. Pingback: Personas | maidenforjesus

Leave a Reply

