Uncategorized

Giving All

[Not my picture. Random from the internet.]

[Not my picture. Random from the internet.]

March 26, 2015. My family and I volunteered to work a booth for Holt International, a ministry dedicated to helping in the adoption process of orphans in several countries.

We saw so many people pass by who we knew could help. Some gave our booth a glance. Some wrinkled their nose. Some looked at the children with pitty then walked on. After long hours, I was getting discouraged. We only had gotten about one child supported. I wanted to yell out to the crowds of people that passed by. I wanted to reach them all and show them the riches in our hands and the poverty in these children’s. I would not have judged them, but I saw the money they spent on T-shirts and food and such. I saw one man pull out a bundle of money from his pocket to go spend on a band’s booth. I felt desperate. I felt the spiritual poverty of our people. My people. People claiming Christ.

Then, unexpectedly, a boy between the ages of 8 and 12 walked up to the booth. He looked longingly at the little children’s photographs. After a while of fingering the different forms, he reached into his pocket and pulled out two dollars (the equivalent of the support of one child for two days). He handed the money to one of the ladies working our booth and said that he couldn’t support a child but wanted to donate to them. Two dollars…All these people holding hundreds of dollars in their pockets and this little boy gave two dollars, all he had.

I had to hide my face as I wept seeing this. It reminded me of the Pharisees and the widow. The pharisees tithed a good amount of everything they had, which was much. But the widow gave two mites, all she had. And Jesus said she gave more than all the rich men who gave out of their abundance. What an image that will ever stay ingrained in my mind! Lord be willing, I will never forget that little boy and his two dollars! It has inspired me to do more and give more than ever, because even I give out of my abundance. May this story touch others as much as it touched me!

[Luk 21:1-4]

(1) And he [Jesus] looked up, and saw the rich men casting their gifts into the treasury. (2) And he saw also a certain poor widow casting in thither two mites. (3) And he said, Of a truth I say unto you, that this poor widow hath cast in more than they all: (4) For all these have of their abundance cast in unto the offerings of God:but she of her penury hath cast in all the living that she had.

[KJV]

[Mat 23:23-26]

(23) Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye pay tithe of mint and anise and cummin, and have omitted the weightier matters of the law, judgment, mercy, and faith:these ought ye to have done, and not to leave the other undone. (24) Ye blind guides, which strain at a gnat, and swallow a camel. (25) Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye make clean the outside of the cup and of the platter, but within they are full of extortion and excess. (26) Thou blind Pharisee, cleanse first that which is within the cup and platter, that the outside of them may be clean also.

[KJV]

Holt International’s website: http://www.holtintl.org

Standard

6 thoughts on “Giving All

  1. Dear Kegan, a wonderful, living testimony! God showed you and us the reality of His Kingdom through the faith of this little boy.

    When I read this post, I remembered the old hymn;

    “All to Jesus I surrender, All to Him I freely give.
    I will ever love and trust Him, In His presence daily live.

    I surrender all, I surrender all.
    All to Thee, my blessed Savior, I surrender all.”

    Lord, may we be offered as a living sacrifice!
    May we give ourselves to Thee without reserve!
    In our Holy Jesus name,
    Amen.

    from Kinuko

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dearest Kinuko-san,

      What a wonderful comment! Indeed that hymn does desxribe this well. And it is very encouraging to give. There was so much I wanted to say in this. I had more written on it, but apparently God thought it best not to have it, because the next morning, my added part was gone but my editing was still there. So, I thought this was good enough. 🙂

      May we surrender all to God! All our living! Everything! Just like the widow and the little boy…

      Your little sister,
      Kegan Cook

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sanae.T says:

    Sharing willingly in God’s will bless all people related there,I think.Through the boy’s heart,God bless you also. It is beautiful story. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Keegan, what a great insight. Unfortunately, people who have much/ a lot of money, don’t seem to be bothered to give or even get involved with ministries. I’ve seen the case where ministries/outreaches are run by a cople that didn’t have much! Yet they run camp for 20 and more children. Meanwhile, some well off people don’t even want others to know that they have certain gifts. I heard a story about a person who didn’t want anyone else to know (in church) that he was good with computers because he was afraid that people will start flocking to him for help.

    Like

    • Dearest Sister Irina,

      What an interesting observation. That is true. I have found that most people with money are willing to give a little, but don’t want to even think about giving all their living. And I’m not saying that rich people should just go sell all they have. What I’m saying is that they should dedicate all they have to God’s purpose and give as much as possible. I feel this is what the Bible teaches. And it is more blessed to give than to receive. 🙂 It really is…I have found this from personal experience.

      May God fill your day with blessings and joy!

      Your little sister,
      Kegan Cook

      Like

Leave a Reply

