Uncategorized

The Sight of a Blind Woman; A Simple Prayer to Turn our Hearts

The picture is not mine...

The picture is not mine…

Fanny Crosby was rendered blind at a young age because of damage done to her corneas. However, she never let her blindness hinder her in any way. At a young age, she memorized large portions of the Bible, rode horseback, played, jumped, ran, climbed trees, played several instruments rather well, and wrote many poems. Later in life, she travelled, became a professor at an institution for the blind, and wrote many hymns. She has been one of my major inspirations over the past few months. She refused to count her lack of sight as anything but a blessing. Despite her lack of physical sight, she saw more spiritually than most see in all their lifetime. O the sight of this blind woman! Let us now incline our ears to one hymn she wrote. It is a prayer to turn our hearts. This has become my prayer every day. Let the words soak in….

“I am thine, O Lord. I have heard Thy voice,

And it told Thy love to me;

But I long to rise in the arms of faith,

And be closer drawn to Thee.

Draw me nearer, nearer, blessed Lord,

To the cross where Thou hast died;

Draw me nearer, nearer, nearer, blessed Lord,

To Thy precious, bleeding side!

Consecrate me now to Thy service, Lord,

By the power of grace divine;

Let my soul look up with a steadfast hope,

And my will be lost in Thine.

Draw me nearer, nearer, blessed Lord,

To the cross where Thou hast died;

Draw me nearer, nearer, nearer, blessed Lord,

To Thy precious, bleeding side!

O the pure delight of a single hour

That before Thy throne I spend;

When I kneel in prayer, and with Thee, my God,

I commune as friend with friend!

Draw me nearer, nearer, blessed Lord,

To the cross where Thou hast died;

Draw me nearer, nearer, nearer, blessed Lord,

To Thy precious, bleeding side!

There are depths of love that I cannot know

Till I cross the narrow sea;

There are heights of joy that I may not reach

Till I rest in peace with Thee.

Draw me nearer, nearer, blessed Lord,

To the cross where Thou hast died;

Draw me nearer, nearer, nearer, blessed Lord,

To Thy precious, bleeding side!”

—”Draw Me Nearer” by Fanny Crosby

The picture is not mine...

The picture is not mine…

Standard

10 thoughts on “The Sight of a Blind Woman; A Simple Prayer to Turn our Hearts

  1. Sanae.T says:

    Many of hymns with her lylics were translated into Japanese. We sing some of them at my church. I read about her faithful life on book by Japanese writer who research praise music.(Ms.Noyuri Otsuka). Fanny Crosby became famous as a lylicist but always shared her money with destitudes, lived near slam,I heard.I have classic hymn book in Japanese called ‘seika’. It contains 24 tunes of which lylics were written by her. Her influence still remains also in Japan.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Dear Kay-chan,

    Wow, thank you so much for introducing us this amazing woman. I love this poem, too (both in English, Korean and in Japanese). I’ve just learned from Sanae’s comment that she had shared her money with poor people. Thanks, Sanae san.

    Isn’t it so encouraging that the faith of one soul still sings in the hearts of believers?

    And you, too, Kegan. Your dedicated life is speaking something to my heart and the heart of many others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dearest Kinuko-san,

      Thank you! Yes! It is amazing. Let us rejoice together that God is not limited by time or change! He can use us at His pleasure! Praise God….
      Thank you so much for the kind words, Kinuko-san. This is my prayer, that I may impact lives for Jesus…

      I’m sorry I have not gotten the answers back to you yet! I will try to work on them soon….And I will also work on getting the interview written out. We have been cleaning and cooking and biking for most of our time. But I will try to work harder to make time for my article work! Thank you for the much honour, patience, and sympathy!

      Your little sister,
      Kay-chan

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dear Kay-chan,

        Good morning, my sweet sweet little sister! Wow, I saw your father’s comment on your blog today (am I right?). It is so precious that you have a believing father. Your father’s comment made me dream like this: O Lord, can I say my wish? I wish, one day, my father would comment on my Christian testimonies and share deep things about the wonder of God in the Bible.

        Dear Kay-chan, please take you time, please don’t worry about my askings. Family time is so precious and I am genuinely happy to see how you spend your time with your family. If I could go back to your age, I would not have gone to cram schools or various private institutes. Instead, I would want to go hiking, picnic with my Dad and Mom.

        So, please enjoy your time with your dear family and friends, Kay-chan!

        with much much much love to you,
        Kinuko

        Liked by 1 person

      • Dearest Kinuko-san,

        Aw! Hai, Kinuko-san, it was my father’s. And what a wonderful wish! I will pray fir this as well. 🙂
        Thank you for your patience! >//<

        Your little sister,
        With much love,

        Kay-chan

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

