Uncategorized

The Truth About Your Age: It Doesn’t Matter

“How old are you?”

“16b.”

“Do what?!!”

I have been thinking….I have noticed that we tend to get tangled up in things that don’t matter. Concepts of the way things should be, for no apparent reason at all. Don’t get me wrong: There’s a time and place for everything (Ecclesiastes teaches that.) And there are certainly things the Bible prohibits at certain times/places (for example: 1Corinthians 14:34-35). But there are a LOT of things that we hold onto that are not commanded in the Bible. I don’t really know why we hold to them so tightly. But we do. And today, seeing it is my birthday, I want to address one of them:

Our age.

I started thinking about this a week or two ago. Why does it matter what I say my age is? I get that “17” tells you how many years I’ve lived on earth by the generally-accepted calendar dates and doctor-written times. But what does that matter? What does that mean? What bearing does it have? Isn’t our age just a number? If a certain lady wants to call herself 29 for the rest of her life, what does it matter? If I want to refer to my age in line with my schooling*, what does it matter? It has no effect on my life, really (as for the age to vote/drink/etc., I care for none of them). It leaves no mark on others. So, what does it matter how old I am or what my default age is? The truth is: I don’t think it does.

As I thought more on this, I started seeing something I had previously only seen glimpses of. What if maturity is the important thing here anyway? Honestly, as I look around, I realize that maturity seems to be lost for most western countries. What if we viewed the 50-year-old who is living like a teenager as a little girl and the 12-year-old who is living like a young lady as a woman? I think that would be the more accurate description—not how long we’ve lived.

So, today, if you ask me how old I am, I will ask you this question: “Do you want my elected age or my default age?” Because the truth is: it doesn’t really matter. But for myself I ask, “Am I a young lady, becoming a woman, more meek and quiet and mature daily for the Lord?” This is the question I ponder today. Not how old I am.

*I am homeschooled. I made the decision to split my 11th and 12th grade years into two years each for various reasons. We call my remaining years 11a, 11b, 12a, and 12b. I’m currently on 11b. So, by my elected age, I would be 16b this year, 17a next year, and 17b the next year. Then, I’ll turn 18 and go on my merry way. 🙂 But, by my default age (a.k.a. “normal”), I turn 17 this year. ^~^

[Picture is from http://www.wordbypicture.com/age-is-just-a-number-quotes/___bWVkaWEtY2FjaGUtZWMwKnBpbmltZypjb218NzM2eHxiOXwyNHw2N3xiOTI0NjdkNDE2ZDMxNmFiZDRhNGI0ODFiZmJkZGYwNipqcGc_Y2FyLW1lbWVzKmNvbXxhZ2UtaXMtanVzdC1hLW51bWJlci1xdW90ZXN8/%5D

Standard

5 thoughts on “The Truth About Your Age: It Doesn’t Matter

  1. Sanae.T says:

    Maturity often means having responsibilities.Even in faith,we often choose to be a baby christian who hope only to be loved,supported rather than be a mature one who stands up for missions to avoid responsibilities.
    I often am impressed by your thoughtful,mature words on this blog.God now treats you for your future mission.
    Now I see many young christians loose their faith or getting away from God in their teens.Some of them give up their pure way of living by peer pressure or by sense of helplessness. Please keep still in your faith God hath given to you.Happy birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, dear Sanae-san! You are right. But I think that with maturity comes joy and priveledges as well—even in our christian walk. Spritiually, we gain the priveledge of knowing and experiencing God more as we grow. I think in many ways western cultures have lost the desire to mature and grow up. Many adults want to be teens again. I think this is because many parents have failed to teach their kids the value of maturity and what that means. The age segregation has caused kids to act younger and younger, instead of longing for the acceptance of adults. It is a broken system full of broken people. I have much to say about it, but it is not yet time. 🙂 May God bless you, Sanae-san! I pray to learn all I can from everyone!

      Like

  2. Oh, Kay-chan, I felt so so so sorry for not saying congratulations on your birthday! I felt so bad,,please forgive me. Your birthday was 13th and now is already 15th! You are much younger than me but you are so mature indeed. What impressed me was the following words;

    <But for myself I ask, “Am I a young lady, becoming a woman, more meek and quiet and mature daily for the Lord?” This is the question I ponder today. Not how old I am.

    Amen. How can 17-year-old maiden say such a deep thing? Because,,,as you said, the age does not matter indeed. I love pure,passionate young Christian women like you. Your testimony always makes me hope for the future. I really hope to see you face to face.

    Kinuko

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dearest Kinuko-san,

      Thank you so much! Don’t worry about missing my birthday. It’s not really that important. 🙂 I missed Sanae-san’s and felt so so so bad! I am glad I did not miss yours too!

      I am happy that you think me a pure and passionate and mature young maiden. It is encouraging that perhaps I am making some impact in this world….I hope to be more like you Kinuko! I want to be kind, encouraging, meek, sincere, and passionate like you! I want to see God with clarity as you do! I long for such things….And I pray for victories over my flesh that I may achieve such blessings as you have. God seems to pour His favour on you, dearest Kinuko. I want to be like you. 🙂

      Your little sister,
      Kay-chan

      Like

  3. Pingback: Ages | wayfaringwatchman

Leave a Reply

